Reviews

Review Harry on His Google Plus Page (click here).google_circle_color-512

Thanks for all of local reviews for the drum instruction lessons.

Dylan Andrews – Drum Review

Posted by on Jan 21, 2015 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Dylan Andrews – Drum Review

Dylan Andrews (Chicago Studio and Drum Teacher) gives a drum solo on his drum set and a drum review for Harry Wilkinson. Dylan had Harry Wilkinson as a drum teacher for several years (basically learned to play the drums) when living in Nashville. Now Dylan Andrews lives and works in Chicago, IL as a “studio drummer” and “drum teacher.” See Dylan’s website at dylanandrewsdrummer.com.

Terry Ballard – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Terry Ballard – Nashville, TN

Harry, you’re a Great Drummer, Great Teacher and a Great Man!! I am very fortunate to have studied with you and blessed to have you as a close Friend!! Keep on keepin’ on Harry!! Best Wishes!!

Terry Ballard
Nashville, TN

Hayden Palm – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Hayden Palm – Nashville, TN

I’ve been drumming with Mr. Wilkinson for about a year now, and he’s a really great teacher to work with. He’ll help you learn any style of music, he works with your schedule, is really friendly, and is an expert drummer! He has even published many technique books as well as his own albums. I’d recommend him to a beginner or an advanced drummer looking to get better. I’ve really enjoyed learning from him.’

Hayden Palm
Nashville, TN

Andy May and Nancy Brown – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Andy May and Nancy Brown – Nashville, TN

Harry has worked with our youngest for many years. His professionalism, competence, and enthusiasm have made our son love his weekly lesson and love the time he spends playing the drum. Harry is a talented teacher, but he is also a kind and thoughtful man – a great influence on the boys who learn from him.

Andy May and Nancy Brown
Nashville, TN

Cheryl Brown – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Cheryl Brown – Nashville, TN

Our son, Chris has taken drum lessons from Harry since the second grade (he is now a senior in high school).  Harry has nurtured his love of music with skill, patience and talent.  He has in instilled in our son the love of all genres of music, jazz, classical, rock, etc.  Chris’s first recorded drum song was “Pretty Woman” and this year he will be playing Buddy Rich’s “Channel 1 Suite”  in his final concert of his Senior year.  Harry supported Chris through two All State Jazz Orchestra try-outs (he made the orchestra one year) and has attended his shows at school, church and wherever.  Harry also encouraged Chris to play with the Nashville Symphony for a performance of the Pied Piper. Harry has always adapted his teaching to where Chris was in his musical journey.  While Chris does not plan to major in music in college, his love of the drums and all types of music will travel with him.  He plans to try out for various ensembles at college to help keep his skills fresh. We can never repay Harry for the time he has put in on our son, but we have reaped the benefits… and we’ll be sending a little bit of Harry to Miami University this fall, tucked away deep inside our son.

Cheryl Brown
Nashville, TN

John Howard – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

John Howard – Nashville, TN

Harry Wilkinson is the most professional drum teacher I have ever met. Harry takes time to teach his students in a way that adapts to their learning abilities. Many of Harry’s students have gone on to have great careers in the field of drumming. I highly recommend him as a drum teacher.

John Howard

Ken and Susan Kennedy – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Ken and Susan Kennedy – Nashville, TN

Harry was highly recommended to us 4 years ago; we were told that he is the best drum teacher in Nashville.  He has lived up to that claim!   Harry is excellent in keeping Ross interested in drumming.  He also has a special talent of bringing out the best in our son’s musical ability.  Harry arranged for a group of his students to play on a street corner that was on the route of the Music City Marathon.   He also has arranged for Ross to play snare drum in an orchestra.  He genuinely cares about his students that goes beyond music.  He came to visit Ross in the hospital when he was ill; he came to hear Ross’ school band concert.  Harry has a special talent of relating to kids of all ages, and goes the extra mile to provide a wonderful experience for them.

Ken and Susan Kennedy
Nashville, TN

Jeffrey K. Hitchcock, LRN – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Jeffrey K. Hitchcock, LRN – Nashville, TN

I began lessons with Harry in my late 30’s in search of a new hobby.  Have been with him every since (approximately 3-4 years) and seldom miss my weekly visits to the drum shop.  I really enjoy his enthusiasm and passion for drumming.  He cares for his students and sometimes arranges extracurricular activities including group drum events.  His teaching style focuses on technique, skill, and fun.  Visits usually begin with a technical lesson, transition into a good drum work-out, and end with song playing.  Most of the teaching material was developed by Harry himself including songbooks and music some of which has been recorded on CD.  In fact I have a lesson scheduled for this evening and am looking forward to the fond experience I have each visit.  Regarding price, I feel his rate is very reasonable and recommend him to anyone looking to start a fun, exciting discipline.

Jeffrey K. Hitchcock, LRN
Nashville, TN

 

Hugh Bramhall – Lebanon, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Hugh Bramhall – Lebanon, TN

In 2000 at the age of 60, I started taking drum lessons with Harry Wilkinson. He is an inventive, talented teacher, and I enjoyed every stroke. I still call Harry a friend.

For his lessons, Harry was always prepared with material suitable for my level and progress. His material relied on building block instruction, never going beyond what would be useful and important for me to learn before moving on to another stage of development.

In his studio, Harry used only professional equipment and his professional music background was apparent. He demonstrated patience, courtesy, and made me want to learn.

Hugh Bramhall
Lebanon, TN

William G. Wiggins – Vanderbilt University

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

William G. Wiggins – Vanderbilt University

“I am very pleased to recommend Harry Wilkinson for drum instruction, particularly for young and beginning students. Harry is devoted to instilling fundamental aspects of drumming and musicianship, giving young students a firm foundation upon which to build their life in music.”

William G. Wiggins 
Associate Professor of Timpani and Percussion
The Blair School of Music of Vanderbilt University
Principal Timpani
Nashville Symphony Orchestra

Louis P. Svendsen – Tennessee Board of Regents

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Louis P. Svendsen – Tennessee Board of Regents

We were referred to Harry by one of Nashville’s most famous studio drummers who told us that Harry was the best teacher he knew. He was right.  Harry makes sure that his students know their rudiments as well as getting exposure to all the major musical genres. In addition, Harry’s manner in working with his students is most excellent.  He has a genuine concern for each student’s development as a drummer and a person.  Our son has worked with several instructors over the years and Harry is far And away the best.

Louis P. Svendsen
University Counsel • Tennessee Board of Regents

Mario Sangermano – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Mario Sangermano – Nashville, TN

I just want to say I am very pleased with Harry Wilkinson as a Drum teacher. He does an excellent job of teaching students to be well rounded musicians and players, and people. If you have a young student who wants to be a professional drummer, then Harry will give your students the knowledge and skills to achieve those goals. I’m glad my son Nathan is studying with Harry.

Thanks,
Mario Sangermano

Doug Andrews – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Doug Andrews – Nashville, TN

Harry,
Dylan and I stopped by today and he enjoyed quizzing the guys endlessly about various things while I listened and remembered  happy times bringing him here to see you. Thank you for sending him on his fabulous journey. He is making a good living in Chicago teaching and playing in many jazz bands.  I am so proud of him and just wanted to say hello and thank you for teaching him and inspiring this passion. We both wish you had been here.

Happy Thanksgiving,  Doug Andrews
Lam-Andrews • Nashville, TN

David Wilson – Long Island Philharmonic

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

David Wilson – Long Island Philharmonic

“Music for the Drum Set” – Book

Based on Mr. Wilkinson’s wide musical experience, the progressive studies in his “Music for the Drum Set” will prepare a percussion student for meeting any drum set performance requirements .  I cannot recommend this book too highly.

David Wilson - Percussionist (shown playing Timpani with Orchestra)

David Wilson – Percussionist (shown playing Timpani with Orchestra)

David Wilson
Percussionist: American Ballet Theatre Orchestra, Principal Percussionist, Little Orchestra Society.  Principal Percussionist: Long Island Philharmonic.  Percussion instructor:  Horace Mann School.

Brad Byers – Las Vegas, NV

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Brad Byers – Las Vegas, NV

Harry was my teacher in my late teens. He gave me the opportunity many times to set up his drums at one of the worlds premier recording studios, CBS Caribou Ranch outside Denver.

Harry encouraged me when I was going to L.A. in the late 70’s, to call up Jeff Porcaro, Jim Keltner, Harvey Mason, John Guerin, Bernard Purdie, and many other session greats, and ask them to attend some sessions, and that’s exactly what I did. I’ve learned from Mr. Wilkinson not only the rudiments, syncopation, and stick control, but about being a responsible drummer, the business aspects, and the ethics of what it takes to succeed as a professional drummer and human being. Mr. Wilkinson was the best teacher I ever had, and I owe him a great deal for my success in the music business. Rock on Mr. Wilkinson, because you are “the man!”

Brad Byers
Professional drummer
Las Vegas, NV

Bill Conger – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Bill Conger – Nashville, TN

I decided to restart my lessons on drum set later in life, and being a non-traditional student, I felt somewhat awkward climbing behind the set again. Thankfully, I discovered Harry Wilkinson as my drum instructor.

Initially, I pursued lessons with him because of his versatility as a percussionist. Fortunately, for me, he had many other outstanding traits that demonstrated I had made a wise choice. He doesn’t take a one-size-fits-all approach. He is careful to map out a plan of action that meets the student’s ability and helps transport him forward in his playing ability. He has an arsenal of teaching techniques at the ready so when one isn’t relating the concept, he can switch gears to another workable option.

The old saying that “Those who can, do. Those who can’t, teach” certainly doesn’t apply to Harry. He brings a real world experience with him from years of playing in the studio and touring on the road. He brings his professional experience into the lesson that gives an insight many teachers can’t provide. He is patient, thorough and adaptable in his teachings. Even when I haven’t done my needed preparation for the lesson, Harry makes the lesson work in his creative fashion and advances my understanding further. While some instructors must teach to survive financially, you can tell Harry cares about his students and helping them to “get it.” Teaching isn’t a job to pay the bills for him. It’s a career he loves.

John and Mary Zic – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Oct 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

John and Mary Zic – Nashville, TN

Harry, the patience and fun atmosphere in your drum teaching studio laid the foundation for teaching the sound fundamentals of percussion for my son John. For eight years my son eagerly went to his percussion lessons with you. This solid foundation allowed him to excel throughout grade school and high school. While being a senior snare drummer at Father Ryan High School, the group achieved third place at the World Guard International indoor drum line championship in 2007.

Sincerely, John and Mary Zic

John A. Zic, M.D.
Associate Dean for Admissions
Associate Professor of Medicine/DermatologyDirector, VU Cutaneous Lymphoma ClinicVanderbilt University School of Medicine

Sergio Fazio – Nashville, TN

Posted by on Jan 21, 2014 in Nashville Drum Lesson Reviews | 0 comments

Sergio Fazio – Nashville, TN

Harry Wilkinson has been teaching drums to my daughter Altair for nearly two years, and has shown the greatest amount of patience, talent, commitment, and dedication well beyond what expected on the basis of an agreement for hourly lessons. My wife and I are greatly impressed by his gentle demeanor, his genuine love for teaching, and his technical and artistic knowledge.

Sergio

Sergio Fazio
Nashville, Tennessee